Can my child operate a personal watercraft or motorboat?
State regulations require that the operator of a personal watercraft be 14 years of age or older and have a Boating Safety Education Card. There is no other age requirement in state law, but several counties do have age restrictions for motorized vessels.
As of Jan. 1, 2008, boat operators 12 years old and older are required to have successfully passed an approved boating safety examination and carry a Boating Safety Education Card when operating a vessel 15 horsepower or greater.
See the Washington Online Boating Safety Course and Exam website at boat-ed.com/Washington for more information.
Information for this feature comes from wdfw.wa.gov/help.