Question: Is there a law about when a child can transition to a forward-facing car seat? Lots of talk lately about the guidelines changing, but is there a law? Joe, Lakewood
Answer: No, but the Washington State Patrol has its own guidelines.
"Its best practice to leave a child in a rear-facing infant seat until the child is 1 year old and 20 pounds," Washington State Patrol trooper Guy Gill said.
As for the law:
"A child must be restrained in a child-restraint system until the child is 8 years old, unless the child is 4 feet, 9 inches or taller," Gill said.
Alexis Krell: 253-597-8268
Have a question about traffic congestion, construction, spending or other transportation issues? Send it to firstname.lastname@example.org. Include your name, hometown and daytime telephone number.