Clare Petrich named Port of Tacoma Commission president

Staff writerDecember 23, 2013 

Port of Tacoma Commissioner Clare Petrich in 2011


Clare Petrich, a Port of Tacoma commission member since 1995, has been elected to lead the commission as its president in 2014.

Petrich, named as the commission's 2014 president by fellow commission members, will replace Don Meyer as the five-member commission's leader next year.

Commissioner Don Johnson was named the commission's vice-president last week in the same election.

Petrich and her family have long ties to Tacoma's waterfront.  She is a waterfront landowner and small business entrepreneur and co-founder and chairwoman of the Commencement Bay Maritime Fest.

She serves on the Joint Municipal Action Committee, the Local Emergency Planning Committee, the Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, the Youth Marine Foundation, the Flood Control Zone District Committee, the Washington Council on International Trade and the Tacoma-Pierce County Economic Development Board.

She is a past president of the Puget Sound Regional Council’s Economic Development District Board and continues to serve on the board. She is also a past president and secretary for the Trade Development Alliance of Greater Seattle, the port noted in a press release. 

Petrich is a graduate of Manhattanville College in New York.  She received her master’s degree from the University of Virginia.

The News Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service