Talbert elected Pierce Transit board chairman

The News TribuneFebruary 10, 2014 

Pierce County Councilman Rick Talbert was elected chairman of Pierce Transit’s board Monday.

He will succeed chairwoman and Tacoma Mayor Marilyn Strickland on March 1.

Strickland has served two consecutive one-year terms as chairwoman, the maximum allowed under Pierce Transit’s bylaws.

The chair heads up the eight-member Board of Commissioners, presiding over its meetings.

Strickland will remain on the board since her term as a board member doesn’t expire until the end of 2015.

Board members voted unanimously to elect Talbert, who is currently vice chairman and was the only nominee.

“You are a strong advocate for public transportation,” Strickland said of Talbert.

Board members nominated two members for vice chairman, University Place City

Councilman Kent Keel and Puyallup City Councilman Steve Vermillion.

Keel’s nomination was defeated by a 4-3 vote. The board then voted unanimously to select Vermillion as vice chairman.

The Board of Commissioners is made up of elected officials representing Pierce County, Tacoma, Lakewood, Puyallup, University Place, the smaller cities and towns of Pierce Transit’s service area, and one non-voting union representative. 

The News Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service