NASCAR Sprint Cup: STP 500 time, TV, facts

March 27, 2014 



    1. Carl Edwards186

    2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.185

    3. Jeff Gordon184

    4. Brad Keselowski182

    5. Matt Kenseth179

    6. Jimmie Johnson165

    7. Kyle Busch158

    8. Ryan Newman150

    9. Austin Dillon150

    10. Joey Logano146

    11. Denny Hamlin140

    12. Jamie McMurray138

    13. Brian Vickers137

    14. Paul Menard134

    15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.132

    16. Kyle Larson131

    17. Tony Stewart127

    18. Casey Mears126

    19. Kasey Kahne123

    20. Marcos Ambrose122

    21. Greg Biffle122

    22. AJ Allmendinger118

    23. Clint Bowyer114

    24. Kurt Busch99

    25. Kevin Harvick97

    26. Aric Almirola96

    27. Danica Patrick92

    28. Reed Sorenson91

    29. Justin Allgaier88

    30. Martin Truex Jr.82

    31. Michael Annett75

    32. Cole Whitt71

    33. David Ragan69

    34. David Gilliland67

    35. Alex Bowman65


    1. Regan Smith185

    2. Trevor Bayne185

    3. Ty Dillon179

    4. Chase Elliott177

    5. Elliott Sadler174

    6. Brendan Gaughan160

    7. Brian Scott160

    8. Dylan Kwasniewski149

    9. James Buescher145

    10. Mike Bliss125


    1. Timothy Peters43

    2. Johnny Sauter41

    3. Ron Hornaday Jr.39

    4. Ryan Blaney38

    5. Jeb Burton37

    6. Jimmy Weller III35

    7. German Quiroga34

    8. Ryan Sieg33

    9. Tyler Reddick32

    10. Matt Crafton31

This week’s race

STP 500

What: 500 laps (263 miles)

Where: Martinsville Speedway, a .526-mile flat, paved oval in Martinsville, Va.

When: 1 p.m. Sunday

TV: Fox

Radio: Motor Racing Network

Last year’s winner: Jimmie Johnson

Also this week: Kroger 250, Camping World Truck Series, Martinsville Speedway, 2:30 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1.

Worth mentioning: The NASCAR Truck series hasn’t run since the season opener last month at Daytona. As a refresher, heading into this weekend’s race at Martinsville, Timothy Peters leads the series points standings by two over Johnny Sauter. Ron Hornaday Jr. is third, Ryan Blaney is fourth and Jeb Burton is fifth.



Kyle Busch: That’s two consecutive last-lap lead changes at Auto Club Speedway and two consecutive wins for Kyle Busch.

Kyle Larson: Lots of people were raving about him before coming to NASCAR. Now we know why.

Kurt Busch: Earned his first top 10 of the season and nearly his first win.

Tony Stewart: Two consecutive top-five finishes should have Stewart back on track.

Sam Hornish Jr.: Did a great job as a last-minute substitute for Denny Hamlin.


Denny Hamlin: That’s two consecutive years visiting a California hospital for Hamlin – not a trend you like to see.

Jimmie Johnson: Led the most laps and appeared set to join the winner’s club until his invite was pulled by a flat tire.

Kevin Harvick: Since winning at Phoenix, Harvick has had nothing but bad racing luck.

Kasey Kahne: Probably wishes he could hit the season “restart” button.

Jim Utter

The News Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service