NASCAR Sprint Cup: Southern 500 time, TV, facts

April 10, 2014 

  • Points standings

    Sprint Cup

    1. Jeff Gordon259

    2. Matt Kenseth255

    3. Carl Edwards247

    4. Joey Logano235

    5. Kyle Busch231

    6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.228

    7. Jimmie Johnson228

    8. Brad Keselowski218

    9. Brian Vickers205

    10. Paul Menard203

    11. Ryan Newman202

    12. Austin Dillon202

    13. Denny Hamlin197

    14. Tony Stewart189

    15. Kyle Larson187

    16. Greg Biffle187

    17. Clint Bowyer187

    18. Marcos Ambrose186

    19. Kasey Kahne178

    20. AJ Allmendinger173

    21. Jamie McMurray167

    22. Aric Almirola164

    23. Casey Mears162

    24. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.154

    25. Kurt Busch151

    26. Kevin Harvick138

    27. Martin Truex Jr.131

    28. Justin Allgaier129

    29. Danica Patrick121

    30. Reed Sorenson113

    31. David Gilliland107

    32. Michael Annett103

    33. Cole Whitt99


    1. Chase Elliott224

    2. Regan Smith222

    3. Ty Dillon214

    4. Elliott Sadler208

    5. Trevor Bayne206

    6. Brendan Gaughan193

    7. Brian Scott192

    8. Dylan Kwasniewski179

    9. James Buescher176

    10. Ryan Reed141


    1. Timothy Peters82

    2. Johnny Sauter82

    3. Matt Crafton78

    4. Ryan Blaney78

    5. Ron Hornaday Jr.76

    6. Ben Kennedy72

    7. German Quiroga71

    8. Darrell Wallace Jr.61

    9. Jeb Burton60

    10. Tyler Reddick60

What: 367 laps (501 miles)

Where: Darlington Raceway, a 1.366-mile paved, banked egg-shaped oval in Darlington, S.C.

When: 6:45 p.m. Saturday

TV: Fox

Radio: Motor Racing Network

Last year’s winner: Matt Kenseth

Also this week: VFW 200, Nationwide Series, Darlington Raceway, 8 p.m. Friday, ESPN2.

Worth mentioning: Fan voting for the 2015 Class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame has begun on and concludes at noon May 20. The five nominees receiving the highest percentage of votes will comprise the Fan Vote ballot, which will be included among the 54 submitted by the hall’s voting panel.

Who’s Hot/ Who’s Not


Joey Logano: Welcome to the Sprint Cup Series’ winner’s club.

Jeff Gordon: He may not have a win, but he is the Cup series points leader.

Kyle Larson: Rookie has two top fives in the past three races and is looking forward to Darlington.

Chase Elliott: An awesome performance for his first Nationwide Series win.

JR Motorsports: The organization has the first- and second-place drivers in the Nationwide standings.


Weather: Now five of seven NASCAR race weekends have been negatively affected by bad weather.

Dale Earnhardt Jr.: Series points leader to first-out-of-the-race in a week.

Kevin Harvick: Has one of fastest cars each week, if only he could run the races problem-free.

Trevor Bayne: After a fast start to the season, he took a tumble at Texas.

Jim Utter

The News Tribune is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service