Neither coach appreciated the penalty kick and red card on Sounders' goalkeeper Terry Boss, which led to the first goal in Celtic's 2-1 win over the Sounders today.
Here's referee Paul Ward written responses to questions on his rulings.
1) In that situation why is it necessary to call the penalty when a goal was scored on continuation?
Answer: I did not feel the Celtic player was going to retain possession and therefore did not play an advantage.
Never miss a local story.
2) Was it mandatory or your own discretion to issue a red card?
Answer: The red card is mandatory as, under Law 12, the keeper is guilty of denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity by an offense (trip) punishable by a penalty kick.