IRS issues “Taxpayer Bill of Rights”

The Internal Revenue System has announced the adoption of a “Taxpayer Bill of Rights” to help the public better understand their standing as citizen-taxpayers.

“There are core concepts about which taxpayers should be aware,” said IRS Commissioner John Koskinen in a recent news release.

Among the rights listed:

1. The right to be informed.

2. The right to quality service.

3. The right to pay no more than the correct amount of tax.

4. The right to challenge the IRS’ position and be heard.

5. The right to appeal an IRS decision in an independent forum.

6. The right to finality.

7. The right to privacy.

8. The right to confidentiality.

9. The right to retain representation.

10. The right to a fair and just tax system.

Look for posters and signs in IRS offices, outlining the above rights, and expect to see them listed again in an upcoming IRS mailing to taxpayers.

“While these rights have always been there for taxpayers, we think the time is right to highlight and showcase these rights for people to plainly see,” Koskinen stated.