Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber announces nominees for New Tacoma Awards

The Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber announced its nominees Thursday for the annual New Tacoma Awards.

The awards recognize businesses, organizations and individuals who make outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma.

Winners will be announced at a lunch July 11 at the Pacific Grill Events Center at 1530 Pacific Ave. Reservations can be made online on at

This year’s awards are sponsored by Tacoma Power’s Click Network, Tags Awards & Specialties and Blitz & Co. The 2014 nominees are:

For the Ghilarducci Award recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification:

For the Popham Award recognizing the individual that has done the most to build community spirit:

For the Public Places Award recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space or right-of-way:

For the Schoenfeld Award recognizing exemplary performance and pizazz as a retailer or restaurateur:

For the Union Station Award recognizing organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization: