Johnson wins second term as port president

Port of Tacoma commissioners Thursday elected fellow commissioner Don Johnson to serve as the commission’s president in 2015.

Johnson, former vice president and general manager of one of Tacoma’s larger Tideflats businesses, the Simpson Tacoma Kraft mill, was first elected to the commission in 2007. He had previously served as commission president for a single term in 2010.

The Simpson mill is now owned by Georgia-based RockTenn Corp.

The commission president has a long résumé of civic leadership posts including the former chairmanship of the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce, the Washington School Advisory Board, the United Way of Pierce County Board and the Pierce County United Way annual campaign.

He presently serves as a member of the Puget Sound Regional Council’s Transportation Policy Board and Goodwill’s Finance Committee. He is chairman of the Goodwill Foundation board and immediate past chairman of the MultiCare Health Care Foundation. He is a member of the Port of Tacoma’s audit committee.

Johnson is member of both the Transportation Club of Tacoma and the Tacoma Propeller Club.

The commission named commissioners Connie Bacon as vice president, Dick Marzano as secretary, Don Meyer as first assistant secretary and Clare Petrich, the immediate past president, as second assistant secretary. Under normal circumstances, the five port commissioners rotate through port positions.

As president of the commission, Johnson will chair commission meetings and represent the port at official functions and in marketing contacts with port executives with port customers.