Show & Tell


The Children’s Museum of Tacoma and University of Washington Tacoma are jointly hosting an early learning symposium called “Our Youngest Citizens: Building a Child-Centered Community.”

The agenda includes Tacoma Mayor Marilyn Strickland and others speaking on “What if?”topics. Featured speakers include Ben Mardell, professor of early childhood education at Lesley University and Alfie Kohn, education advocate and author. Master of ceremonies will be David Zeeck, publisher of The News Tribune.

The event is at UWT’s William W. Philip Hall, 1918 Pacific Ave., Tacoma from 7:30 a.m.-11:45 a.m. Tuesday. It is free and open to the public; registration is required.

Go to to complete registration.


Firgrove Elementary School in Puyallup will participate in a five-year grant that will pay for after-school programs beginning this school year, as well as a summer learning program.

The Puyallup School Board and the Puget Sound Educational Service District, a regional state education agency, have signed an agreement that outlines how support for students will be provided. Support will include academic enrichment, literacy and educational opportunities for families.


The names of five Stadium High School alumni will be added to the school's Wall of Recognition next month.

The newest honorees are John Anderson, former Tacoma mayor; Vince Kokich, dentist; Babe Lehrer, community fundraiser; Brian Sonntag, former state auditor; and Eric Olson, a retired Navy admiral and former chief of the U.S. Special Operations Command.

Selection criteria include exemplary achievement, honors and awards, and service to the community.

The official ceremony will take place on Oct. 3 at the entry wall of the Tacoma high school. The idea for the hall of fame grew out of the 2006 Stadium centennial celebration.


Woodbrook Middle School in the Clover Park School District, was recently recognized with a Gold Star of Excellence award by the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association’s “Give me 5” sportsmanship program. It was one of three middle schools to receive the award in the state. The program, in its first year, encourages schools to link with each other to promote positive attributes of activities programs.

Compiled by Mary Anderson and Debbie Cafazzo, staff writers