The News Tribune’s endorsement roundup

The following are The News Tribune editorial board’s endorsements of candidates and issues on the Nov. 4 general election ballot.

Incumbents are designated with an asterisk (*), incumbents by appointment with a double asterisk (**).

To read endorsement editorials, go to www.thenewstribune.com/ endorsements.

Congressional districts

6th: Derek Kilmer, D*

8th: Dave Reichert, R*

9th: Adam Smith, D*

10th: Denny Heck, D*

Legislative districts

2nd District

House Pos. 1: Graham Hunt, R**

House Pos. 2: J.T. Wilcox, R*

25th District

House Pos. 1: Dawn Morrell, D*

House Pos. 2: Hans Zeiger, R*

26th District

Senate: Jan Angel, R*

House Pos. 1: Nathan Schlicher, D

House Pos. 2: Larry Seaquist, D*

27th District

House Pos. 1: Laurie Jinkins, D*

House Pos. 2: Jake Fey, D*

28th District

Senate: Steve O’Ban, R**

House Pos. 1: Dick Muri, R**

House Pos. 2: Christine Kilduff, D

29th District

Senate: Steve Conway, D*

House Pos. 1: David Sawyer, D*

31st District

Senate: Cathy Dahlquist, R

House Pos. 1: Drew Stokesbary, R

House Pos. 2: Chris Hurst, D*

Pierce County

County Council, District 7

(Dual endorsement)

Stan Flemming, R*

Derek Young, D

District Court

Pos. 8: Karl L. Williams

State Supreme Court

Pos. 4: Charles W. Johnson*

Pos. 7: Debra L. Stephens*

Ballot measures

Initiative 591: Weakens gun background checks: NO

Initiative 594: Closes private gun-sale loophole: YES

Initiative 1351: Reduces class sizes: NO

Tacoma charter amendments

Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 12: YES

Nos. 5, 6, 8, 9: NO

Carbonado EMS levy: YES

East Pierce Fire & Rescue levy: YES

Graham Fire & Rescue levy: YES

University Place utility tax increase for police service: YES