Huskies Insider Blog

Midnight links: Alaska Airlines reportedly agrees to 10-year deal with UW for naming rights of Husky Stadium field

The Alaska Airlines name will reportedly be on more than just the Hec Edmundson Pavilion basketball court.

According to Adam Jude of The Seattle Times, Alaska and UW agreed to a 10-year, $41 million deal for the naming rights of the Husky Stadium field -- so it’s now “Alaska Airlines Field at Husky Stadium.” The deal, which is scheduled to be formally approved by the UW Board of Regents at their Sept. 10 meeting, is reportedly the largest of its kind in college athletics. Guessing we’ll see a formal announcement from the school about this soon.

On to a few more links before boarding a flight to Boise ...

--- Wrote in today’s newspaper about senior receiver Jaydon Mickens’ decision to wear John Ross III’s jersey number (No. 1) this season.

--- Here’s what Chris Petersen said at his final media availability before Friday’s game.

--- Percy Allen had this story from Petersen’s session.

--- Missed this a while back, but Pat Forde included the UW-BSU game on his list of the 25 most intriguing games of the 2015 season.

--- An “electric” atmosphere is expected in Boise on Friday night.

--- Boise State has a trio of tailbacks who could play Friday.

--- Here’s a preview of the game from the Sports Xchange.

There are three Pac-12 games today ...

Michigan at Utah, 5:30 p.m., FOX Sports 1 -- Utah hopes to show the most improvement through the air.

Texas-San Antonio at Arizona, 7 p.m., Pac-12 Networks -- Who are the Wildcats’ most irreplaceable players?

Colorado at Hawaii, 10 p.m., CBS Sports Network -- Yes, you read that correctly: this game is being played at 10 p.m. Pacific time, which is 11 p.m. Mountain time in Boulder (and 7 p.m. local time in Honolulu). Sounds like there will be plenty of empty seats, too.

Christian Caple can be reached at christian.caple@thenewstribune.com. Twitter: @ChristianCaple

  Comments