Huskies Insider Blog

Hall of Famer Steve Emtman

Former University of Washington defensive lineman Steve Emtman was named today as one of 15 former players and coaches to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Emtman will be the 15th former Husky to be inducted into the college hall, located in South Bend, Ind.

He was a consensus All-American in 1991, when he was part of Washington's undefeated national co-championship team, which allowed an average of 9.2 points per game. Also that season, Emtman won both the Outland and Lombardi trophies and finished fourth in Heisman Trophy balloting.

The Indianapolis Colts selected him first overall in the 1992 NFL draft, and he played six seasons in a career limited by knee injuries.

Other UW players in the College Football Hall of Fame (listed in order of induction) are George Wilson (1923-25), Chuck Carroll (1926-28), Paul Schwegler (1929-31), Vic Markov (1935-37), Hugh McElhenny (1949-51), Don Heinrich (1949, '50 and '52), Bob Schloredt (1958-60), Max Starcevich (1934-36), Rick Redman (1962-64) and Don Coryell (1947-49).

UW coaches in the hall are Gil Dobie (1908-16), James Phelan (1930-41), Darrell Royal (1956) and Don James (1975-92).