Huskies Insider Blog

Locker, Polk, Foster big winners at end-of-year banquet

Quarterback Jake Locker claimed the Guy Flaherty Award, the team’s oldest and most prestigious award honoring teamwork, for the second consecutive season at the UW’s end-of-the-year banquet Tuesday night at the Westin Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Running back Chris Polk won the offensive player of the year in back-to-back seasons; linebacker Mason Foster, the Pacific-10 Conference's leading tacklers, was named the defensive MVP; and walk-on punter Kiel Rasp was the top special teams’ performer.

Senior Ryan Tolar (offense) and Ta’amu (defense) were voted the linemen of the year for the Huskies.

Here is the full list of honorees:

Guy Flaherty Most InspirationalJake Locker 950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive PlayerChris Polk 950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive PlayerMason Foster 950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams PlayersKiel Rasp & Greg Walker Don James Perseverance AwardsD'Andre Goodwin & Quinton Richardson 101 Club Academic AwardVictor Aiyewa Academic Academic AwardVonzell McDowell Jr. John P. Angel Lineman of the YearRyan Tolar L. Wait Rising Lineman of the YearAlameda Ta'amu Earle T. Glant Tough HuskyChris Polk Chuck Niemi Big Hit AwardNate Williams Tyee Sports Council Community Service AwardGregory Christine Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVPsJames Atoe, Mike Criste, Micah Hatchie, Ben Riva & Colin Tanigawa Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVPsAndrew Hudson & Josh Shirley Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVPWillis Wilson Travis Spring Most Outstanding FreshmanHau'oli Jamora

Husky Fever 12th Man AwardJesse Callier Weight Lifting AwardsOffense: Senio KelemeteDefense: Cort DennisonConstruction Crew: Colin Porter Apple Cup Big Play of the GameJermaine Kearse