Huskies Insider Blog

Thomas selected UW men's basketball MVP

Here's the release from the school:

The Washington Husky men’s basketball team culminated its season with the annual awards banquet at the Don James Center on Wednesday night and junior guard Isaiah Thomas took home two awards, including MVP.

Thomas, who indicated on March 31 his intention of entering the 2011 NBA Draft, not only was named the 950 KJR Most Valuable Player, but earned recognition as the Playmaker of the Year. Thomas averaged 16.8 points per game and a Pac-10 best 6.1 assists per contest.

Thomas was not the only Husky player to earn multiple awards. Senior Matthew Bryan-Amaning was the recipient of the Marv Harshman Award (top rebounder) and John Meyers Defensive Player award. Bryan-Amaning shared the John Meyers award with fellow classmate Justin Holiday, who also took home top hustler honors with the Wurster Award.

Sophomore Aziz N’Diaye was named the team’s hardest worker with the Industrial Award and shared the 101 Club Scholar-Athlete honors with junior Brendan Sherrrer. Sherrer was also named the recipient of the Brandon West Walk-On Award for a second-consecutive season.

Junior Darnell Gant earned the Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational award, perhaps one of the teams most prestigious honors.

Junior Scott Suggs was the squad’s Most Improved Player. He increased his scoring average and minutes per game for a third-straight season.

A pair of up-and-coming freshmen took home the Coaches Award – C.J. Wilcox and Terrence Ross.

2010-11 Washington Men's Basketball Team Awards:950 KJR Most Valuable Player – Isaiah Thomas Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational – Darnell Gant Marv Harshman Trophy (top rebounder) – Matthew Bryan-AmaningWurster Award (top hustler) – Justin Holiday John Meyers Defensive Player – Matthew Bryan-Amaning and Justin Holiday Most Improved Player – Scott SuggsPlaymaker of the Year – Isaiah Thomas Industrial Award (hardest worker) – Aziz N’Diaye 101 Club Scholar-Athlete – Brendan Sherrer and Aziz N’Diaye Coaches Award – C.J. Wilcox and Terrence RossBrandon West Walk-On Award – Brendan Sherrer