Huskies Insider Blog

Huskies slated to play in 2012 Tip-Off Tournament in Connecticut

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced that the Washington Huskies are one of eight teams in the field for the 2012 Tip-Off Tournament on Nov. 16-18 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut.

“Coach Jim Shaw has done a great job of trying to get us in one of the premier tournaments every year and this certainly falls into that category," head coach Lorenzo Romar said in a press release. "We are privileged and honored to be selected as a participant in the Hall of Fame Tournament. The New York experience was great, we got to do a lot of things away from basketball. When we went to the CBE Classic (Kansas City) a few years ago, we got to see the NCAA Hall of Fame. Now, to be able to see and experience the Naismith Hall of Fame is something that may be our players only opportunity to ever see it. I’m already excited!”

Besides the Huskies other teams that were selected were the Loyola University Maryland (MAAC), Norfolk State University (MEAC), Ohio State University (Big Ten), Seton Hall University (Big East), University of Albany (America East), University of Missouri-Kansas City (Summit League) and University of Rhode Island (Atlantic 10).

“This year’s Tip-Off Tournament will once again showcase some of the best college basketball programs in the country,” John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame, said in a press release. “We are looking forward to welcoming each of these teams, as they compete at Mohegan Sun, one of the finest facilities in the country.”

The tournament will be separated into two brackets ...

The Naismith Bracket will feature: Washington, Ohio State, Seton Hall and Rhode Island.

The Springfield Bracket will feature: Albany, Loyola, UMKC and Norfolk State.

Teams will play two on-campus games first. The times and locations have yet to be announced.

Here's the website ...