Huskies Insider Blog

My picks for the Pac-12 postseason awards

The Pac-12 postseason awards will be announced in a few hours. So of course, since we don't get to vote (coaches vote, but can't vote for their own team) every writer offers up his own thoughts on who should get the awards.

This is going to come off really homerish. But I think it's been well established that I'm far from a homer or a fanboy when it comes to the Huskies. But I am a believer in the idea of "to the victors goes the spoils."  Washington won the Pac-12 and should be rewarded accordingly.

Pac-12 Player of the Year - Terrence Ross, UW

I still don't have a ton of conviction in this pick, simply because I can't name one player that distanced himself late in the season. It was Jorge Gutierrez's award to win, and I think he still might win it based on how much coaches love him and what he does on the floor. But the Bears ended the season with two straight losses and Gutierrez scored 0 points and eight points. Yes, I know he got in foul trouble against Stanford on a couple of awful calls. But the player of the year has more of an impact in those two must-win games.

And apologies to Devoe Joseph and Brock Motum and Jared Cunningham, who all had outstanding seasons.

It comes down to Terrence Ross and Tony Wroten for the player of the year to me.

And I'm going to go with Terrence Ross. Wroten fills up the statsheet with assists and steals.But he also turns it over more than any player on the Huskies and shoots under 60 percent from the line. Percy Allen and I like  to joke that Wroten is a "force of nature." But Ross is still the most important player to the Huskies. Besides averaging 15.3 points per game, he's the team's second best rebounder at 6.6 per game. He's a better overall defensive player that Wroten. He also basically won games for UW against Utah, Washington State, UCLA and a few others.

I would expect Ross to win, but won't be surprised if Gutierrez won. I think it will be  relatively close vote.

Coach of the Year - Lorenzo Romar, UW

A week ago,

I said that Lorenzo Romar should win the coach of the year

, and listed the reasons why. My feelings haven't really changed in that regard. The excuse that Romar has the best talent rings hollow to me. You still have to coach talent. The Huskies still lost 70 percent of their offensive production with the graduation of Isaiah Thomas - a first team all-conference player and player of the year runner up, Matthew Bryan-Amanning - a first-team all-conference player, Justin Holliday, Ven0y Overton and losing senior Scott Suggs before the season even started.

But I think Romar's closest competition isn't Tad Boyle of Colorado any longer. The Buffs tanked late. I think if any other coach should win it other than Romar, it should be Dana Altman of Oregon. I also mentioned him in the blog post, but I really think the strong finish from the Ducks has added to his resume. Would you really be surprised if Oregon made it to the Pac-12 tourney finals? I know I wouldn't.

Freshman of the Year - Tony Wroten, UW

This one should be unanimous. There really needs to be no explanation why Wroten should win this award. And if it does, then you haven't watched Pac-12 play this season.

My Pac-12 all-freshman team would be:

  • Tony Wroten, Washington
  • Davonte Lacy, Washington State
  • David Kravish, Cal
  • Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
  • Chasson Randle, Stanford

Defensive player of the year - Jorge Gutierrez, Cal

It's Jorge Gutierrez. He's a two-time all-league defensive player. Ask Jared Cunnigham, or Tony Wroten or any of the league's top scorers, who the best defensive player in the league. He's a pest. He's physical. He takes charges. He gets steals. He gets in players heads. Say what you want about him, but you'd love to have him on your team.

All-defensive team

  • Jorge Gutierrez, Cal
  • Kyle Fogg, Arizona
  • Jared Cunnigham, OSU
  • Andre Roberson, Colorado
  • Josh Huestis, Stanford

Most improved player - Brock Motum, WSU

An easy choice here. Motum raised his averages in every category, while becoming one of the most versatile scoring threats in the league.

All-Conference Team

First Team
  • Terrence Ross, Washington
  • Tony Wroten, Washington
  • Devoe Joseph, Oregon
  • Brock Motum, Washington State
  • Jorge Gutierrez, California
Second Team
  • Allen Crabbe, Cal
  • Sol0mon Hill, Arizona
  • Kyle Fogg, Arizona
  • Andre Roberson, Colorad0
  • Jared Cunnigham, Oregon State
Honorable Mention
  • CJ Wilcox, Washington
  • EJ Singler, Oregon
  • Lazeric Jones, UCLA
  • Justin Cobbs, Cal
  • Maurice Jones, USC