Huskies Insider Blog

Trufant named Guy Flaherty winner, defensive MVP at team awards

Tacoma's Desmond Trufant won the 105th Guy Flaherty Award on Sunday at Washington's postseason football awards presentation. The Flaherty Award, voted on by the players, was first awarded in 1908 and is given to the team's most inspirational player. Trufant was also named the defensive MVP.

Tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins was named offensive MVP and safety Justin Glenn the special teams MVP. Sophomore nose tackle Danny Shelton from Auburn was honored with the Academic Achievement Award.

Washington handed out several other team awards:

Sophomore defensive end Andrew Hudson won the L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year Award. Redshirt-freshman offensive guard Dexter Charles won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior safety Sean Parker received the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award. Sophomore tailback Bishop Sankey picked up the Earle T. Glant Tough Husky Award.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshman Award winner was true freshman safety Shaq Thompson. The Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to sophomore receiver Kasen Williams. Senior center Drew Schaefer took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Jeff Lindquist. Sophomore defensive lineman Drew Schultz from Olympia was named winner of the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was given to freshman cornerback Cleveland Wallace.

Hudson, sophomore receiver DiAndre Campbell and freshman fullback Psalm Wooching picked up weightlifting awards.

Senior defensive lineman Semisi Tokolahi received the Don James Perseverance Award and senior wide receiver Cody Bruns was named winner of the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award.