Tuesday: Mickelson arrives at US Open to chilly conditions on 45th birthday

Phil Mickelson decided he’d spend his 45th birthday at Chambers Bay.

He was up early on a chilly and overcast Tuesday morning practicing his putting and chipping on the second day of official practice rounds — and his birthday no less. He wasn’t here yesterday because he had competed in the FedEx St. Jude Classic over the weekend, finishing third.

“Lefty” walked passed a host of spectators walking off the putting green. He didn’t sign autographs, but muttered that he would be signing after finishing at the 18th hole following his practice round later. He headed out just after 8 a.m. in a group with Brandt Snedeker, Rickie Fowler and Jimmy Walker.

Forbes recently published a story that Mickelson, for the first time in his career, passed Tiger Woods this year as the highest paid golfer in the world, earning $50.8 million to Woods’ $50.6 million. But he hopes this weekend he can do what Woods already has — compete the career Grand Slam by winning his first U.S. Open.

Woods for the second consecutive day began his day with a 7 a.m. practice round. His group today consisted of 2015 Masters champion Jordan Spieth, Nick Hardy and Russell Henley.

Sergio Garcia signed autographs in the morning. He’s hoping to end an 0-for-66 record in majors with a Chambers Bay victory this week.

The Spaniard afterward headed for his practice round starting at the 10th hole alongside Stephen Gallacher, Bernd Wiesberger and Colin Montgomerie.

Here’s the complete list of Tuesday’s tee times for U.S. Open practice rounds at Chambers Bay:


7 a.m.: Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth, Nick Hardy, Russell Henley

7:11 a.m.: Jason Day, Matthew NeSmith, Mark SIlvers, Bryson DeChambeau

7:22 a.m.: Tom Hoge, Joshua Persons

7:33 a.m.: Hunter Mahan, Bill Haas, Luke Donald, Matt Every

7:44 a.m.: Lucas Bjerregaard, Sebastian Cappelen, D.A. Points

7:55 a.m.: Francesco Molinari, Shane Lowry, Alexnader Noren, Jamie Donaldson

8:06 a.m.: Samuel Saunders, Lee Janzen, Jason Allred, Andrew Pope

8:17 a.m.: Brandt Snedeker, Phil Mickelson, Rickie Fowler, Jimmy Walker

8:28 a.m.: Angel Cabrera, Andres Romero, Miguel Angel Jimenez

8:39 a.m.: Bubba Watson, Brad Elder, Timothy O’Neal

8:50 a.m.: Webb Simpson, Blayne Barber, Denny McCarthy

9:01 a.m.: J.B. Holmes, Kyle Jones, Dustin Johnson, Steve Marino

9:12 a.m.: Cameron Tringale, Camilo Villegas, Oliver Schniederjans, Bo Van Pelt


7 a.m.: Seuk Hyun Baek

7:11 a.m.: Darren Clarke, Danny Willett, Lee Westwood, Brooks Koepka

7:22 a.m.: Kurt Barnes

7:33 a.m.: Andy Sullivan

7:44 a.m.: Bill Hurley III, Matt Kuchar, Billy Horschel

7: 55 a.m.: Jake Knapp, Kevin Chappell

8:06 a.m.: Stephan Jaeger, Ian Poulter, Sam Horsfield

8:17 a.m.: Stephen Gallacher, Brend Wiesberger, Colin Montgomerie, Sergio Garcia

8:28 a.m.: Daniel Summerhays, Tony Finau, Danny Lee, Richard Lee

8:39 a.m.: John Senden, Henrik Stenson, Pat Wilson, Marc Warren

8:50 a.m.: Hiroyuku Fujita, Shunsuke Sonoda, Jim Furyk, Ryo Ishikawa

9:01 a.m.: Lucas Glover, Roberto Castro, Jack Maguire, Kevin Kisner

9:12 a.m.: Tjaart Van der Walt, Garth Mulroy, Retief Goosen, Davis Riley


1 p.m: Hideki Matsuyama, Adam Scott, Bradley Neil, Brandon Hagy

1:11 p.m.: Gunm Yang, Robert Streb, Brian Campbell

1:22 p.m.: Joost Luiten, Oliver Farr, Byong-Hun An, Charley Hoffman

1:33 p.m.: Rich Berberian Jr., Kevin Lucas, Jimmy Gunn

1:44 p.m.: Kevin Na

1:55 p.m.: Marcel Siem, Martin Kaymer, Alexander Levy

2:06 p.m.: Michael Davan, Tyler Duncan

2:17 p.m.: Brendon Todd

2:28 p.m.: Patrick Reed

2:39 p.m.: Geoff Ogilvy

2:50 p.m.: Open

3:01 p.m.: Alex Kim

3:12 p.m.: Open


1 p.m.: Shiv Kapur, Anirban Lahiri, Masahiro Kawamura, Thongchai Jaidee

1:11 p.m.: John Parry, Marcus Fraser, Cameron Smith, Marc Leishman

1:22 p.m.: Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner, Lee McCoy, Charlie Beljan

1:33 p.m.: Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen, George Coetzee, Branden Grace

1:44 p.m.: Cole Hammer, Beau Hossler

1:55 p.m.: Morgan Hoffmann, David Hearn

2:06 p.m.: Paul Casey

2:17 p.m.: Open

2:28 p.m.: C.T. Pan

2:39 p.m.: Open

2:50 p.m.: Tommy Fleetwood

3:01 p.m.: Jared Becher

3:12 p.m.: Open

Related stories from Tacoma News Tribune