High School Sports

WIBCA releases rosters for Saturday’s all-state boys basketball games

Let’s round them up one more time.

Dustin France won’t be playing in the White River High School baseball team’s pair of games in Yakima on Saturday. The basketball-first senior, who finished second on the school’s career scoring list with 1,248 career points, will instead take his talents to the all-state basketball game at Eastside Catholic.

He’s one of 10 seniors on the Class 2A squad, which faces a 1A team led by Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association 1A co-players of the year Jessie Norton of Vashon Island and Justin Densmore of Zillah.

The WIBCA puts on the annual all-state games. Current and former NBA players John Stockton, Jason Terry, Michael Dickerson, Luke Ridnour, Nate Robinson, Brandon Roy and Zach LaVine are some of the players who have competed in the past.

The 1B team will face the 2B squad first at 2 p.m., followed by 1A-2A at 4, and 3A-4A at 6.

Federal Way, fresh off its second 4A state title in school history, is well-represented. Jerome Collins will coach the 4A squad, and Viont’e Daniels, The News Tribune’s All-Area boys basketball Player of the Year, headlines the team’s 10 players. He was named WIBCA’s 4A player of the year.

So if the game is on the line, will Collins call Daniels number?

“I haven’t thought of it that far along yet,” Collins said.

Collins also said he won’t be wearing any of his snazzy suits that annually make him the talk of the boys state tournament.

“There it was all business, trying to gain every kind of edge you can,” Collins said. “This is a different perspective. It’s just going to be a fun time and a fun opportunity.”

Rainier Beach’s University of Washington-bound forward Dejounte Murray was named the WIBCA’s Mr. Basketball — the state’s best player. But he won’t be playing for the 3A team this weekend. Rainier Beach coach Mike Bethea said he is using the weekend to take some time off from basketball.

Other local players participating:

•  Rahsaan Mills of Charles Wright will play for the 1A team.

•  Foss’ Haywood Irwin, Lincoln’s Josiah Barsh and Wilson’s Keun Palu-Thompson will play together for the 3A team.

•  Kentwood’s Malik Sanchez and Stadium’s Bobby Moorehead, who this week committed to play at Montana next year, will play on the 4A team.