Mariners Insider Blog

Edgar Martinez's bid falls short this year as no players are voted into baseball hall of fame

The voting results for the baseball hall of fame have been released. And based on the votes be the Baseball Writers Association of America, no player reached the 75 percent of the vote needed for induction. Craig Biggio had the highest percentage with 68.2 percent.

Locally, Edgar Martinez received 204 votes for a percentage of 35.9. That's actually down from the 36.5 percent he received from last season.

In the interest of full disclosure, I do not have a hall of fame vote. I haven't been covering baseball long enough. Not that I really would enjoy the vitriol of having one. Both Larry LaRue and John McGrath have hall of fame votes and I've asked them to submit them to me so I can post them.

Here's a statement from MLB players association leader Michael Weinstein ...

“Today’s news that those members of the BBWAA afforded the privilege of casting ballots failed to elect even a single player to the Hall of Fame is unfortunate, if not sad. Those empowered to help the Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum document the history of the game failed to recognize the contributions of several Hall of Fame worthy players. To ignore the historic accomplishments of Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, for example, is hard to justify.  Moreover, to penalize players exonerated in legal proceedings -- and others never even implicated -- is simply unfair.  The Hall of Fame is supposed to be for the best players to have ever played the game.  Several such players were denied access to the Hall today.  Hopefully this will be rectified by future voting.”

Here's the full voting results ....

Craig Biggio 388 (68.2%), Jack Morris 385 (67.7%), Jeff Bagwell 339 (59.6%), Mike Piazza 329 (57.8%), Tim Raines 297 (52.2%), Lee Smith 272 (47.8%), Curt Schilling 221 (38.8%), Roger Clemens 214 (37.6%), Barry Bonds 206 (36.2%), Edgar Martinez 204 (35.9%), Alan Trammell 191 (33.6%), Larry Walker 123 (21.6%), Fred McGriff 118 (20.7%), Dale Murphy 106 (18.6%), Mark McGwire 96 (16.9%), Don Mattingly 75 (13.2%), Sammy Sosa 71 (12.5%), Rafael Palmeiro 50 (8.8%), Bernie Williams 19 (3.3%), Kenny Lofton 18 (3.2%), Sandy Alomar Jr. 16 (2.8%), Julio Franco 6 (1.1%), David Wells 5 (0.9%), Steve Finley 4 (0.7%), Shawn Green 2 (0.4%), Aaron Sele 1 (0.2%), Jeff Cirillo 0, Royce Clayton 0, Jeff Conine 0, Roberto Hernandez 0, Ryan Klesko 0, Jose Mesa 0, Reggie Sanders 0, Mike Stanton 0, Todd Walker 0, Rondell White 0, Woody Williams 0.

Here's the hall of fame packet the Mariners put together for Edgar.