Mariners Insider Blog

Furbush is Mariners’ nominee for Clemente Award

SEATTLE — Left-hander Charlie Furbush, currently recovering from a slight tear in his rotator cuff, is the Mariners’ nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award, which recognizes achievements on and off the field.

Among other charitable acts, Furbush served the last two years as host for the Mariners Care Cystic Fibrosis Golf Tournament, which raised over $410,000 for research.

Furbush, 29, is in his fifth year and was 1-1 with a 2.08 ERA in 33 games when placed on the disabled list following a July 7 appearance.

Fans can help determine the award’s winner, beginning Wednesday, in an online vote at Online voting runs through Oct. 9. The winner will be announced at the World Series.

The award dates to 1971 but was renamed in Clemente’s memory in 1973 following his death in a plane crash on Dec. 31, 1972 while delivering supplies to victims of a Nicaraguan earthquake.

Three Mariners have received the award: second baseman Harold Reynolds in 1991; left-handed pitcher Jamie Moyer in 2003; and designated hitter Edgar Martinez in 2004.


Arizona Diamondbacks – Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves – Jason Grilli

Baltimore Orioles – Brian Matusz

Boston Red Sox – Brock Holt

Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo

Chicago White Sox – David Robertson

Cincinnati Reds – J.J. Hoover

Cleveland Indians – Carlos Carrasco

Colorado Rockies – Kyle Kendrick

Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros – George Springer

Kansas City Royals – Alex Gordon

Los Angeles Angels – Hector Santiago

Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez

Miami Marlins – Dee Gordon

Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy

Minnesota Twins – Torii Hunter

New York Mets – Curtis Granderson

New York Yankees – Mark Teixeira

Oakland Athletics – Stephen Vogt

Philadelphia Phillies – Ryan Howard

Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals – Adam Wainwright

San Diego Padres – Andrew Cashner

San Francisco Giants – Javier Lopez

Seattle Mariners – Charlie Furbush

Tampa Bay Rays – Chris Archer

Texas Rangers – Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays – Jose Bautista

Washington Nationals – Denard Span