Seattle Seahawks

Wilson among 6 Hawks selected for Pro Bowl

Six Seahawks were named to the Pro Bowl on Friday.

Quarterback Russell Wilson, running back Marshawn Lynch, free safety Earl Thomas, strong safety Kam Chancellor, cornerback Richard Sherman and center Max Unger were chosen for the game.

Kicker Steven Hauschka, punt returner Golden Tate and left tackle Russell Okung were named as alternates.

The Seahawks had six players in last season’s Pro Bowl. Only the 1984 and 2005 games, with seven Seahawks each, had more.

Wilson and Lynch are the only quarterback/running back duo in the league to be chosen for the game, selections for which weren’t restricted by conference for the first time.

It will be Chancellor’s second Pro Bowl in four seasons, Lynch’s fourth overall and Sherman’s first. Sherman — who led all defensive players in the fan voting, with 552,600 votes — was named All-Pro in 2012, however. His eight interceptions this season lead the NFL.

Chancellor has 90 tackles for Seattle’s top-ranked defense.

It’s Thomas’ third consecutive Pro Bowl. He ranks second on the team with a career-high 103 tackles (76 solo) and a career-high-tying five interceptions, which are tied for fourth in the NFL.

Unger and Wilson also were named to the team last season.

Under the new “unconferenced” Pro Bowl format, players will be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft, which will air on NFL Network on Jan. 22 at 5 p.m. Hall of Famers Deion Sanders and Jerry Rice will pick the teams.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 26 and televised live on Ch. 5 at 4 p.m. from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.

If the Seahawks make the Super Bowl, the six players named to the teams will be replaced on the roster.