Seahawks Insider Blog

Six Seahawks named to the Pro Bowl

For the second consecutive season, the Seahawks have six players going to the Pro Bowl.

Quarterback Russell Wilson, free safety Earl Thomas, strong safety Kam Chancellor, running back Marshawn Lynch, center Max Unger and cornerback Richard Sherman were named to the team Friday.Only the 2005 and 1984 teams (seven each) had more.

Kicker Steven Hauschka, Golden Tate (a a punt returner) and left tackle Russell Okung were named as alternates.From the team:

It will be Chancellor's second Pro Bowl trip in his four seasons, Lynch's fourth overall, Sherman's first after being named first-team All-Pro in 2012, Thomas' third-consecutive Pro Bowl trip in his four seasons since being the 14th overall selection in the 2010 NFL Draft, and Unger's and Wilson's second-consecutive Pro Bowl trips.

Unger's play has helped Lynch rank sixth in the NFL in rushing yards (1,160), third in non-kicker scoring (78) and tie his career-high with 13 total touchdowns this season. Under center, Wilson has continued to place himself in the NFL record books, breaking Ben Roethlisberger's mark for most wins in his first two seasons with 23 and currently ranks third in NFL history for most passing touchdowns in his first two seasons with 51, trailing Peyton Manning by one for second-place.

Seattle's secondary sends three players to the Pro Bowl for the second time in the last three seasons. Chancellor ranks third on the team with 85 tackles (56 solo) and three interceptions and is the physical presence of the NFL's top-ranked passing defense that leads the league in interceptions with 26.

Sherman leads the NFL with eight interceptions, including four in his last two games, and leads the team with 18 passes defensed. His 20 interceptions and 59 passes defensed since 2011 lead the NFL, and among active players, his 20 interceptions tie Ed Reed for the most interceptions through a player's first 47 games played of a career.

Thomas ranks second on the team with a career-high 98 tackles (73 solo) and career-high tying five interceptions that rank tied for fourth in the NFL.

The Seahawks also have three alternates to the NFL's annual all-star game; kicker Steven Hauschka, tackle Russell Okung and punt returner Golden Tate. The player would be named to the team if a selected member of the squad cannot participate.

Under the new unconferenced Pro Bowl format, players will be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft, which will air on NFL Network on Wednesday, January 22 at 5 p.m. PT.

The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 26, 2014 and televised live on NBC at 4 p.m. PT from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.