Seahawks Insider Blog

Morning links: RGIII tops Luck, Wilson in offensive rookie of the year voting; Wagner finishes second on defensive side

In not much of a surprise, Washington quarterback Robert Griffin III topped Andrew Luck and Russell Wilson in winning the Associated Press, offensive rookie of the year voting.

Wilson received 29 votes, followed by Luck (11) and Wilson (10).

However, Wilson was voted the Pepsi Max Rookie of the year, an award voted on by NFL fans.

On the defensive side of the ball, Carolina linebacker Luke Kuechly topped Seattle linebacker Bobby Wagner as the Associated Press, defensive rookie of the year. Kuechly finished with 28 votes, while Wagner had 10.

Minnesota’s Adrian Peterson was named NFL MVP and offensive player of the year. Houston’s J.J. Watt was named defensive player of the year. And Denver’s Peyton Manning won comeback player of the year.

Seven new members join this year’s Hall of Fame class – defensive tackle Warren Sapp, offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen, receiver Cris Carter, coach Bill Parcells and two senior candidates, defensive lineman Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson.

I was particularly pleased to see Carter finally get in.

Former Seattle Seahawks offensive tackle Walter Jones is eligible next year.

Dan Pompei of the National Football Post has an interesting tidbit – he says that those familiar with Dan Quinn believes that he will blitz more than Gus Bradley’s more conservative approach because he’s more of a risk taker. Pompei also provides good stuff on why Eric DeCosta remains the assistant GM with the Ravens, and hasn’t bolted for another job.

Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman is at the Super Bowl, trying to find out who the best shutdown corner is, Darrelle Revis or himself? Check out the must-watch TV here.

Clare Farnsworth of catches up with former Seahawks defensive tackle Sam Adams.

Jerry McDonald of The Bay Area News Group provides a tale of the tape player break down this afternoon’s Super Bowl.