Seahawks Insider Blog

Hawks (finally) announce roster cuts

Well, three hours after the league deadline the Seattle Seahawks delivered this year’s final roster cut downs by carrier pigeon to the Williams’ household (I’m joking, kind of).

The list of players released produced a few surprises, including defensive tackle Colin Cole being released this evening. The Iowa product had been on the Physically Unable to Perform list rehabbing an ankle injury during training camp.

Cole was due $3.75 million in base salary this season if he was on the roster Week 1, and Brandon Mebane had been signed to a lucrative deal as the long-term solution at nose tackle.

Here are the players that have been released according to the team announcement: FB Dorson Boyce, WR Chris Carter, RB Thomas Clayton, DT Colin Cole, CB Kennard Cox, G Paul Fanaika, DE Maurice Fountain, C Mike Gibson, DT David Howard, LB Michael Johnson, DE Jameson Konz, S Mark LeGree, WR Ricardo Lockette, LB Mike Morgan, S Josh Pinkard, T William Robinson, DE A.J. Schable, WR Owen Spencer, RB Vai Taua, WR Patrick Williams. DE Pierre Allen was waived/injured. And tight end John Carlson, WR Isaiah Stanback and DE Jimmy Wilkerson were placed on injured reserve.

Cornerback Roy Lewis, tight end Cameron Morrah and receiver Deon Butler were placed on the Physically Unable to Perform list for the regular season, meaning they will not be available for the first six weeks of the season.



Quarterbacks (3): Tarvaris Jackson, Charlie Whitehurst, Josh Portis

Running backs (4): Tailbacks – Marshawn Lynch, Leon Washington, Justin Forsett. Fullback – Michael Robinson. Wide receivers (6): Sidney Rice, Mike Williams, Ben Obomanu, Golden Tate, Kris Durham, Doug Baldwin.

Tight ends (3): Zach Miller, Anthony McCoy, Dominique Byrd.

Offensive line (9): Russell Okung, Robert Gallery, Max Unger, John Moffitt, James Carpenter, Tyler Polumbus, Lemuel Jeanpierre, Breno Giacomini, Paul McQuistan.DEFENSE (25 PLAYERS)

Defensive line (9): Chris Clemons, Brandon Mebane, Alan Branch, Red Bryant, Raheem Brock, Dexter Davis, Junior Siavii, Pep Levingston, Quinton McDonald

Linebackers (7): Leroy Hill, Aaron Curry, David Hawthorne, Matt McCoy, K.J. Wright, Malcolm Smith, David Vobora.Defensive backs (9): Marcus Trufant, Brandon Browner, Walter Thurmond, Richard Sherman, Earl Thomas, Kam Chancellor, Atari Bigby, Byron Maxwell and Jeron Johnson. SPECIAL TEAMS (3 PLAYERS)Jon Ryan, Jeff Reed, Clint Gresham.