Seahawks Insider Blog

Third time not a charm for Kennedy

For the third straight year former Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy failed to make the cut in this year’s NFL Hall of Fame voting, announced this afternoon.

Kennedy made the list of 10 finalists for a second straight year, but was not the players inducted into this year's the Hall of Fame.

Those getting gold jackets and a bust in Canton include cornerback Deion Sanders, running back Marshall Faulk, defensive end Richard Dent, tight end Shannon Sharpe, linebackers Chris Hanburger and Les Richter, and Ed Sabol, the founder of NFL Films.

Ricter and Hanburger were senior candidates.

Kennedy was among 10 finalists who did not make the cut down to five, including receiver Andre Reed, center Dermontti Dawson, running back Curtis Martin and offensive tackle Willie Roaf.

Candidates who did not make the final 10 include wide receivers Cris Carter and Tim Brown, running back Jerome Bettis, and defensive ends Charles Haley and Chris Doleman.

Kennedy spent all 11 years of his NFL career with Seattle. He was selected as the NFL defensive player of the year in 1992 on a team that finished 2-14 that season. Kennedy also went to eight Pro Bowls and was selected to the all-decade team for the 90s.

Kennedy belongs in the Hall of Fame, in my opinion, but because of a log jam of impressive players making their way through the process will have to continue to wait patiently until the folks around the league properly recognize his considerable accomplishments.