Seahawks Insider Blog

Seahawks trim roster to 53: RB Jones, S Babineaux make cut

The Seattle Seahawks finally released the team’s final, 53-man roster this afternoon.

An apparent hold up was the team’s trade with Philadelphia for offensive lineman Stacy Andrews, which had to be approved by the league and has not been finalized yet, so the team likely will have to make another move.

Again, the roster still is a work in progress. No doubt, the team will look over the waiver wire and continue to make changes before team begins work on Monday.

Some mild surprises include veterans running back Julius Jones and safety Jordan Babineaux making the team, despite the money they will make as reserves. Seattle also kept safety Kevin Ellison, who was competing with Jamar Adams and Babineaux for a roster spot. Offensive tackle Ray Willis was placed on the injured reserve list, so he's done for the season.

Also, as we reported earlier, T.J. Houshmandzadeh was released.

Here’s he full list.

Placed on Reserve / Injured: T Ray Willis Waived: S Jamar Adams, CB Marcus Brown, C Jeff Byers, G Mitch Erickson, CB Cord Parks, LB Joe Pawelek, T Jacob Phillips, DT Quinn Pitcock, RB Louis Rankin, DE Rob Rose, T Joe Toledo, TE Nick Tow-Arnett. Terminated the following vested veteran contracts: DT Amon Gordon, LB Tyjuan Hagler, WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh , WR Brandon Jones, QB J.P. Losman, WR Ruvell Martin, DE James Wyche. Terminated vested veteran from Reserve / Injured with Injury Settlement: DT Jonathan Lewis Waived with an injury settlement: DE Nick Reed Placed on Reserve / Suspended by the Commissioner: LB Leroy Hill

Here's the full roster

Quarterbacks (2): Matt Hasselbeck, Charlie Whitehurst

Running backs (5): Tailbacks – Leon Washington, Justin Forsett, Julius Jones. Fullback – Quinton Ganther, Owen Schmitt.

Wide receivers (5): Mike Williams, Deion Branch, Deon Butler, Golden Tate, Ben Obomanu.

Tight ends (4): John Carlson, Chris Baker, Cameron Morrah, Antony McCoy Offensive line (10): Russell Okung, Chris Spencer, Sean Locklear, Ben Hamilton, Max Unger, Mansfield Wrotto, Mike Gibson, Chester Pitts, Tyler Polumbus, Steve Vallos

Total offense: 26

Defensive line (9): Chris Clemons, Brandon Mebane, Colin Cole, Red Bryant, E.J. Wilson, Kevin Vickerson, Dexter Davis, Craig Terrill, Kentwan Balmer.

Linebackers (5): Lofa Tatupu, Aaron Curry, Will Herring, David Hawthorne, Matt McCoy.

Defensive backs (10): Marcus Trufant, Kelly Jennings, Walter Thurmond, Roy Lewis, Kennard Cox, Lawyer Milloy, Earl Thomas, Kam Chancellor, Jordan Babineaux, Kevin Ellison.

Total defense: 24

Specialty (3): Jon Ryan, Olindo Mare, Clint Gresham.