Sounders Insider

LA gets Shield; Sounders want MLS Cup

Seattle's 2-0 loss to Philly tonight knocked them out of the race for the Supporters Shield. However, coach Sigi Schmid implied that while that would have been nice, it isn't the club's major goal.

"It always hurts," he said. "It always hurts, but at the end of the day what’s most important is to win MLS Cup. You look at who won MLS Cup last year: Colorado. Did they win Supporters Shield? No. Who won MLS Cup the year before: Salt Lake. Did they win Supporters Shield? No. So maybe winning the Supporters Shield isn’t all that necessary to win MLS Cup, and at the end of the day that’s our goal."

Just moments after tonight's result, this arrived from MLS:

The LA Galaxy clinched the fourth Supporters’ Shield in club history on Saturday night by virtue of Seattle Sounders FC’s 2-0 loss to Philadelphia Union. The Galaxy have a league-best record of 18-4-10 with 64 points, a mark that cannot be bettered by any club this season. With two games remaining, the Galaxy are four points shy of the all-time MLS record for points in a season, set by the Galaxy in 1998. The Supporters’ Shield, initiated by organized fan groups, is awarded annually to the supporters of the team with the best regular-season record in MLS. The Galaxy also won the Supporters’ Shield in 2010, and become the third successive club to win the honor in back-to-back years. The Galaxy join D.C. United as the only clubs to have won the trophy on four occasions, previously winning the Supporters’ Shield in 1998 and 2002. As winners of the Supporters’ Shield, the Galaxy will enjoy home-field advantage throughout the MLS Cup Playoffs, which begin Wednesday, Oct. 26. As the Supporters’ Shield winners, the Galaxy have earned an automatic berth into the 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League. The Supporters’ Shield was created by fans in the early years of Major League Soccer and the bronze trophy was unveiled at the inaugural Supporters’ Summit prior to MLS Cup 1998. The Supporters’ Shield is passed from fans of the previous year’s winner to the new winner’s supporters in a ceremony during the year-end Supporters’ Summit. Major League Soccer Supporters’ Shield winners 1996: Tampa Bay Mutiny*1997: D.C. United*1998: LA Galaxy1999: D.C. United2000: Kansas City Wizards2001: Miami Fusion2002: LA Galaxy2003: Chicago Fire2004: Columbus Crew2005: San Jose Earthquakes2006: D.C. United2007: D.C. United2008: Columbus Crew2009: Columbus Crew2010: LA Galaxy2011: LA Galaxy