Sounders Insider

Reign-Spirit, KC-Thorns open NWSL playoffs

NWSLHere's the news from the league:

The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the complete match ups for the 2014 NWSL Playoffs. Both matches will be broadcast live on ESPN2, continuing their coverage of the 2014 NWSL season.

U.S. Women's National Team midfielder and 2013 NWSL Most Valuable Player Lauren Holiday leads FC Kansas City into the first match-up of the playoffs against Alex Morgan and the defending NWSL champions Portland Thorns FC on Saturday, August 23 at 1:00 p.m. ET at Verizon Wireless Field in Kansas City, Mo.

The other semifinal kicks off on Sunday, August 24 at 11:00 p.m. ET when NWSL scoring leader Kim Little and her NWSL Shield winning Seattle Reign FC squad face off against breakout English international Jodie Taylor and the Washington Spirit at Moda Pitch at Memorial Stadium in Seattle, Wash.

Semifinals: #2 - FC Kansas City vs. #3 - Portland Thorns FC Saturday, August 23 10 a.m. PT- ESPN2 Verizon Wireless Field at Durwood Stadium - Kansas City, Mo. Tickets: Call (855) 4KC-GOAL or visit

#1 - Seattle Reign FC vs. #4 - Washington Spirit Sunday, August 24 8:00 p.m. PT - ESPN2 Moda Pitch at Memorial Stadium - Seattle, Wash. Tickets: Call (855) REIGN-FC or visit

Final: Winner (#1 vs. #4) vs. Winner (#2 vs. #3) Sunday, August 31 3:00 p.m. ET - ESPN2 Stadium: TBD

The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women's professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and the U.S. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

Based in Chicago, the NWSL is supported by the Canadian Soccer Association, Federation of Mexican Football and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league's official website at