Sounders Insider

Sounders second for fair-play award

After Brad Evans was runnerup in the MLS Humanitarian of the Year voting, the Sounders today were runnerups for the MLS fairplay team award.

Here’s the news from the league:

Major League Soccer announced today that Portland Timbers midfielder Darlington Nagbe is the recipient of the individual MLS Fair Play Award, and the Philadelphia Union are recognized as the winners of the team MLS Fair Play Award.

Nagbe, who on Friday received his first call-up to the U.S. Men’s National Team for two upcoming 2018 World Cup Qualifying matches, once again demonstrated his discipline on the field by earning his second Fair Play Award in three years. In 2,842 minutes played throughout his 33 regular season games, Nagbe only committed 11 fouls and did not receive a yellow or red card all season. The first round 2011 MLS SuperDraft pick was fouled 87 times this year, which was second-most in MLS behind Toronto FC forward Sebastian Giovinco’s 90 fouls suffered.

The individual MLS Fair Play Award winner is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior. The other two finalists were Nagbe’s Portland teammate, Nat Borchers, and San Jose Earthquakes defender Marvell Wynne. Nagbe, who also won the award in 2013, is the fifth player to win the award multiple times.

For the second year in a row, the Philadelphia Union earned the team Fair Play Award, posting the lowest Disciplinary Points in the 2015 regular season. The Union’s 374 fouls committed were fewest in MLS, and the club’s 54 yellow cards were second-fewest.

The team Fair Play Award winner is selected by MLS based on the fewest regular season disciplinary points, which are derived by adding the points assigned to fouls committed (3 points per), yellow cards (3 points per), red cards (7 point per) and Supplemental Points (8 points per each disciplinary action taken). Philadelphia finished with 599 disciplinary points (17.6 / game), with Seattle Sounders FC (602; 17.7) and the LA Galaxy (617; 18.1) finishing second and third, respectively.

Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:

2015: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers

2014: Michael Parkhurst – Columbus Crew SC

2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers

2012: Logan Pause – Chicago Fire

2011: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union

2010: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union

2009: Steve Ralston – New England Revolution

2008: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution

2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution

2006: Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake

2005: Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Eddie Pope – MetroStars

2003: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew

2002: Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids

2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion

2000: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny

1999: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny

1998: Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew

1997: Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

Fair Play Award -Team Winners:

2015: Philadelphia Union

2014: Philadelphia Union

2013: LA Galaxy

2012: New England Revolution

2011: Portland Timbers

2010: San Jose Earthquakes

2009: Chicago Fire

2008: New England Revolution

2007: Columbus Crew

2006: Kansas City Wizards

2005: Kansas City Wizards

2004: Columbus Crew

2003: New England Revolution

2002: Kansas City Wizards

2001: San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Tampa Bay Mutiny

1999: Columbus Crew

1998: Kansas City Wizards

1997: Columbus Crew