Five Cougars, three Huskies named to All-Pac-12 teams; Mike Leach honored

News services

Washington State sophomore quarterback Luke Falk and five other Cougars along with three Washington Huskies were named to the Associated Press’ All-Pac-12 Conference teams, which includes Mike Leach being named the Pac-12 coach of the year.

Falk, who led the nation in passing yards per game (387.8), was named to the first team along with junior wide receiver Gabe Marks, who led the conference in receptions per game (8.2) and touchdowns (14). Junior guard Eduardo Middleton also made the first team for the Cougars.

The Huskies had two players, sophomore cornerback Sidney Jones and sophomore safety Budda Baker, named to the first team on defense.

Cougars defensive end Darryl Paulo and safety Shalom Luani made the second team along with UW linebacker Travis Feeney.

Heisman candidate Christian McCaffrey of Stanford was a unanimous pick as offensive player of the year with Oregon defensive end DeForest Buckner a unanimous pick for defensive player of the year.

McCaffrey broke Barry Sanders’ 37-year-old record for all-purpose yards in a season, finishing with 3,496 total yards.

UCLA freshman quarterback Josh Rosen was voted as newcomer of the year.


North Dakota State defeated Richmond, 33-7, at home in the first semifinal of the Football Championship Division playoffs. ... Mount Union won its NCAA-best 12th national title, beating St. Thomas of Minnesota, 49-35, in the Division III championship game in Salem, Virginia. ... North Texas coach Seth Littrell hired Graham Harrell, a former outside receivers coach for Washington State under Leach, as his new offensive coordinator. Littrell also hired former WSU offensive quality control coach Joel Filani as his new receivers coach. ... USC wide receivers coach Tee Martin will replace Clay Helton as offensive coordinator. ... Texas Tech coach Kliff Kingsbury has indefinitely suspended his second-best receiver, Devin Lauderdale, and will lose defensive lineman Mike Mitchell and DB Jalen Barnes and DB Derrick Dixon, all sophomores, to transfers. ... Illinois coach Bill Cubit announced co-defensive coordinator Tim Banks is out and Mike Phair will run the unit himself next season. Cubit also said his son, Ryan Cubit, has been promoted from quarterbacks coach to offensive coordinator. ... Ferris State quarterback Jason Vander Laan won his second consecutive Harlon Hill Trophy as Division II’s top player. ... Kentucky coach Mark Stoops dismissed offensive coordinator Shannon Dawson and wide receivers coach Tommy Mainord.