High School Sports

Who were the best football players in the state this year? AP releases all-state teams

The Associated Press released its 2017 all-state high school football teams on Friday, as voted on by sports writers across the state.

O’Dea running back Jamyn Patu was selected as the overall state player of the year after leading the Fighting Irish to the 3A state title in the Tacoma Dome over Rainier Beach. He ran for 2,208 yards and 28 touchdowns.

He shared the 3A state player of the year honor with Garfield’s Tre’Shaun Harrison, a former Oregon commit who earned The News Tribune’s all-state player of the year.

But the teams were littered with players from the South Sound, including two from Sumner earning first-team 4A all-state honors. TCU-bound Ben Wilson was the top linebacker selected and Tre Weed, the 4A SPSL MVP was both a first-team all-purpose pick and a first-team defensive back.

They led Sumner to their second consecutive trip to the 4A state semifinals. Wilson had 141 tackles (11 for losses) and he ran for 1,259 yards and 20 TDs on offense, while Weed compiled 2,054 all-purpose yards.

Talan Alfrey, The News Tribune’s All-Area player of the year, was both a first-team wide receiver and a first-team defensive back. He signed his letter of intent this week to play safety at Brigham Young University after catching 68 passes for 1,081 yards and 12 TDs, while also earning the 4A NPSL Olympic’s defensive MVP with 87 tackles and two interceptions.

Hazen’s Delvon McNeely earned first-team running back alongside Monroe’s Isaiah Lewis after rushing for 1,514 yards and 23 touchdowns, finishing the season with 2,002 all-purpose yards and earning the 4A NPSL Cascade’s co-offensive back of the year.

And Emerald Ridge’s Mosiah Nasili-Liu, who this week signed his letter of intent to play at the University of Washington, earned first-team defensive end, and Auburn Riverside’s Tiano Malietufa, the 4A NPSL’s offensive player of the year, earned first-team linebacker, and so did Kentlake’s Marques Fuala’au.

Each of them were members of The News Tribune’s All-Area football team.

Richland’s Adam Wiessenfels earned the 4A player of the year after the defensive back led the Bombers to the 4A state title.

Some of the top recruits on the first team: Gonzaga Prep’s UW signee Devin Culp (tight end), Skyline’s Cal-bound offensive lineman Matthew Cindric, Woodinville’s WSU-bound offensive lineman Cale Beresford.

Some of the other top recruits to earn all-state honors: In 2A, Fife’s UW bound lineman MJ Ale was a first-team selection, Archbishop Murphy’s UW bound defensive back Kyler Gordon was a first-team all-state all-purpose player and defensive back and East Valey of Spokane’s WSU-bound Rodrick Fischer was an honorable mention wide receiver and defensive back.

And in 3A, Rainier Beach’s UW-bound junior Nathaniel Kalepo earned first-team offensive line and Garfield sophomore Sav’ell Smalls, who has offers from just about all over the country, earned first-team linebacker.

Meridian quarterback Simon Burkett, an Eastern Washington University signee, earned the 1A state player of the year.

UW commit Dylan Morris, a junior, was a 4A honorable mention selection at quarterback behind Richland’s Cade Jensen.

In 3A, the Pierce County League offensive player of the year, Bethel’s Nate Hughes, earned first-team quarterback after throwing for 2,605 yards and 34 touchdowns (with five interceptions), while completing 67 percent of his passes. He is a junior.

Timberline had a whopping five players on the first team.

There was Mason Simeta, the 3A South Sound Conference’s defensive player of the year, earning first-team linebacker, Conner Warick, the 3A SSC lineman of the year, earning first-team defensive line, 3A SSC MVP Michael Barnes was a first-team defensive back and an honorable mention all-purpose player, Chase Bowes earned first-team offensiveline and Toby Toby Selvester earned first-team kicker.

By comparision, state-champion O’Dea had three players selected to the first team. And Bellevue, which beat Timberline in the state quarterfinals, had one player on the first team.

Lincoln’s Giovonni White was a first-team defensive lineman after earning the PCL lineman of the year.

Hockinson quarterback Canon Racanelli earned the 2A state player of the year and ended his high school career by cementing himself onto the all-time state leaderboards. His 9,970 career passing yards passed former Lake Stevens quarterback Jacob Eason for seventh-most all-time. His 124 career passing TDs is tied with Prosser’s Jordan Durbin for seventh-most all time.

Racenelli’s 56 passing TDs this season passed former Lincoln quarterback Jordan Kitna for seventh-most in one season in state history.

Nobody in the state ran for more yards in 10 games than Foster’s Blessing Leiato, the 2A SPSL Mountain offensive MVP. He finished with 194 carries for 2,303 yards (11.9 per carry) and 26 TDs and earned first-team running back.

Foss’ Demetrius Crosby, the 2A SPSL Mountain defensive player of the year, earned first-team defensive back.

Tumwater reached the 2A title game and had two-way all-state lineman Cy Hicks, the 2A EvCo MVP. Aiden Slater, Nathan Seaman and Connor Clark were also first-team all-state selections.

In 1A, Cascade Christian’s Madden Tobeck, the son of former WSU and Seattle Seahawks center Robbie Tobeck, earned first-team running back and linebacker, and teammate Tyquan Coleman was a first-team all-purpose selection. Tobeck had 167 carries for 1,854 yards and 28 touchdowns to earn the 1A Nisqually MVP and Tyquan Coleman finished with 2,591 all-purpose yards.

Here are the full all-state teams:

Related stories from Tacoma News Tribune